Women of Moray – Promoting Women’s History

ADDENDUM: Really exciting news – this book has been shortlisted for the Saltire Society Scottish History Book Prize which will be announced on Friday 30 November 2012.  Link to the prize here.

The Women of Moray project began with a book, Women of Moray, which tells of the lives of over seventy women connected with Moray.  The book will be published on 8 March 2012.  The project now looks set to become a model for similar collections all over the country, creating not only a published resource but also a website where others can add information about their relatives.  In addition, the Women of Moray project has involved both the local and academic communities through a series of events.  Schools will receive copies of the book and storytelling events and art exhibitions are planned. A conference will be held on 10 March to mark the publication (details here).

For me this is a very special occasion because the book includes my grandmother, Olga Margaret Byatt.  Indeed, when I first saw the website, I was delighted to see her photo on the front page!  My aunt, Mary Byatt, has been closely involved in the project and has written the article on Olga.

(with thanks to the Women of Moray project website)

For more details of Olga’s role in the Women’s Hospital Corps in Paris and then in running the hospital in Endell Street, London, please look at the entry in this blog for November 2008 when a plaque was unveiled to mark the site of the hospital (now demolished).  It was the only hospital then staffed entirely by women, and by the time it closed in 1919 it had treated more than 24,000 soldiers. Their motto, fittingly, was “Deeds not Words” (adopted from Mrs Pankhurst’s organisation, the Women’s Social and Political Union (WSPU)). There is more interesting info on this forum, as well as a photo and map showing the location of the hospital.

About Lucy Byatt

I'm a translator, from Italian into English. I also teach Italian Renaissance history and write.
This entry was posted in book reviews, Family history, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Women of Moray – Promoting Women’s History

  1. Richard bennett says:

    Thank you very much for your comments about the book and the project. I particularly appreciated the following:
    “The project now looks set to become a model for similar collections all over the country, creating not only a published resource but also a website where others can add information about their relatives.”
    I do hope so. I feel that this idea should be an important thrust in the marketing of the book beyond Moray. It turns out that it is, surprisingly, a book that is actually ground-breaking.
    Are you going to make the conference?
    I should have said that I am one of the contributors to the book and will be speaking at the conference. I know David, Mary and James well. In fact, James pointed me in the direction of your blog some time ago.

    • Lucy Byatt says:

      Thanks for commenting and congratulations again on the project. I think the book will certainly be “ground-breaking” and I’d love to see more groups being set up along these lines.
      Sadly, I think it’s unlikely that I’ll make it to the conference, although I am very tempted – especially by the paper to be given by Susan!

  2. JCross says:

    I have so much enjoyed reading the book , especially the chapter on Olga Campbell, as I am connected by family, and related to Olivia Campbell . What a marvellous tribute to these most remarkable women.

    • Lucy Byatt says:

      Thanks for your comment – I completely agree. There is now really good news because the book has been shortlisted for the Saltire Society Scottish History Book! Very well deserved.

Leave a Reply

